ATLANTA – (November 5, 2010)  For the 19th year the International Association of Culinary Professionals (IACP) will recognize exceptional food writing with its prestigious Bert Greene Awards for Food Journalism.  Through the years IACP has helped food writers take center stage and elevated food writing into one of the most dynamic genres in contemporary journalism. The awards will celebrate excellence across media platforms in six categories:
·         Blog
·         Culinary Writing about Restaurant and/or Chef with or without Recipes
·         Culinary Writing with Recipes 
·         Culinary Writing without Recipes
·         Culinary Writing about Beer, Wine and/or Spirits
·         Culinary Writing that Makes a Difference
Last year the categories were revised to focus on subject matter rather than where an article appears to reflect the variety of platforms — from blogs to magazines and newspapers — in which the best of food writing is published today.  IACP first saw the growing importance of the digital space for culinary expression seven years ago in 2003 when it began honoring online contributions and web journalism such as Nat Decants by Natalie MacLean, a six time Bert Greene award winner and other respected food journalists. View all past recipients.
The awards are named after nationally acclaimed cooking teacher, cookbook author, syndicated food columnist and past IACP Board member Bert Greene (1923-1988). His lasting legacy includes not only these journalism awards but also the establishment of the IACP Cookbook Awards program now celebrating its 25th anniversary.

Entries are evaluated though a stringent two-tiered process by culinary professionals with experience in writing, journalism, publishing and related fields. The deadline for entering is December 10, 2010.  This awards program is open to IACP members and non-members.  Entrants may submit only one entry per category and the same article may not be entered in more than one categories.   Read more about the Bert Greene Awards’ guidelines, eligibility, category descriptions and entry form.  Finalists will be announced in March and the winners honored at the Awards Gala to be held June 2 during the 2011 IACP Annual Conference in Austin, TX.
Founded in 1978, the International Association of Culinary Professionals (IACP) connects culinary professionals with the people, places and knowledge they need to succeed. Its 3,000 members represent a distinguished roster of influential food professionals that include cooking teachers and cooking school owners; caterers, chefs and restaurateurs; food writers and cookbook authors; editors and publishers of the world’s consumer and trade press; food stylists and photographers; wine professionals; television personalities; recipe developers and test kitchen personnel; public relations, marketing and communications professionals; and many others with a special interest in the culinary arts. To learn more about IACP, please visit

Archives, Pizza News